DUI Violations

Nebraska is notorious for DUI arrests. From 2012 to 2013 alone, DUI arrests increased by15 percent. A first DUI offense carries penalties of $500 minimum, a one-year license suspension, and jail time for as long as 90 days. Subsequent offenses can cost as much as $5,000 in base fees and carry jail sentences that last one to two years. Any time you are convicted of a DUI or DWI in Nebraska, the court will order for your car to have an ignition interlock device placed on it. If you are convicted of a DUI four or more times, your license is suspended for life, though you can appeal this every five years.